When you are involved in a serious motor vehicle accident, an accident report is created to document the details of the accident. This accident report is the most important document you’ll need for your insurance and/or personal injury claim. The Law Office of Brian Brunson can obtain a copy of this report for you, schedule a FREE consultation, and determine how much your claim is worth. Simply complete the short form found here: RateMyCarWreck.com
The time after a motor vehicle accident can be an extremely stressful and confusing experience. We’re here to help you understand what to do next to protect yourself and to ensure you receive the maximum compensation you are owed.
Why should I request a copy of my accident report?
In Texas, when you are involved in a motor vehicle accident, the responding law enforcement authority will document the crash using a form called a CR-3. This document (the accident report) will contain all of the relevant information pertaining to the accident. This document is vital when dealing with the insurance company and in court if your case becomes a legal issue.
Oftentimes, people involved in minor accidents, where there is little to no vehicle damage and no injuries simply exchange insurance information and go about their business. This may seem like the easy thing to avoid the hassle of dealing with the insurance company, but it is extremely important, even in minor accidents, to call the police and have an accident report filed. This will likely protect you down the line if the other party later claims any form of property or personal injury. Always get an accident report!
How do I obtain a copy of my accident report?
After the police are finished documenting the details of the accident, they will file the report with the Texas Department of Transportation (TXDoT) within 10 days of the accident. TXDoT is the government entity who stores all motor vehicle accident reports filed in the state of Texas.
TXDoT is legally required to hold on to all data and information collected in accident reports for up to 10 years after the accident occurred. The Texas Department of Transportation has an electronic system you can use to obtain a copy of your accident report, but there is a fee of $6 per report. If you need a certified copy (which you will for insurance purposes and legal proceedings), that fee increases to $8. We will obtain a copy of your accident report at no cost to you, simply visit RateMyCarWreck.com and complete the short request form.